Facebook53x53pxFINAL  Twitter53x53pxFINAL

Youtube53x53pxFINAL  Instagram_final



Section Award Winners are Honored

Award Winners Celebrated in Marlborough, MA

Group photo of all award winners in attendance on January 10th, 2015 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marlborough, MA


MARLBOROUGH, MA – A record attendance of nearly 200 people celebrated the 2014 USTA New England award winners on Saturday, January 10th, 2015. The luncheon, at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marlborough, MA celebrated 34 award winners and 46 long-time volunteers for their outstanding dedication to tennis in New England.

Award winners and guests were entertained by guest emcee and avid tennis player, Harvey Leonard, Chief Meteorologist from WCVB in Boston, MA for the second year in a row.

USTA New England President and CEO, Scott Steinberg, along with Executive Director and COO, Matt Olson, honored each winner with their award at the event.

“This is always a wonderful event because we are honoring the volunteers, players and organizations who are at the heart of this association. They work tirelessly to make an impact in tennis in a variety of ways and it is truly an honor to be able to recognize them for their contributions,” Steinberg says.

“Being new to the section, it was humbling to see the passionate and dedicated winners receive accolades for their hard work. The amount of people who were there to support the winners is a true testament to the tight-knit tennis community throughout USTA New England and I am honored and excited to be a part of it,” added Olson.

The ceremony began by honoring our dedicated volunteers with Volunteer Service awards, from five years up to 50 years of service. For five years of volunteer service; Noah Capetta, Terry Charles, George Crouse, TJ Dang, Davida Dinerman, D’Arcy Haskins, Jerry Johnson, David Kimani, Joan Matteuzzi, Francisco Montoya, Judi Pepper, Susan Ratyna, Karen Robidoux, Angelo Rossetti, Ruthanne Rothman, Donna Sawyer, Tim Smith, Tiina Smith and Joe Sullivan were all recognized.

For ten years; Rich Bisk, Jan Bushold, Patricia Decker, Bobbie Dise, Alex Dorato, Denise Griffin, Robyn Huban, Wailey Kiang, Pat Murry, Victor Niezrecki, Cindy Pegg and Anne Sullivan all received honors.

For 15 years of service; Betsy Barnet, Danné Davis, Jeanne Hulsen, Robert Pallazolla, Rich Reynolds and Renee Wong. For 20 years, Jeff Bearup, Allen Dunbar, Mike Kolendo, Herbert Mendelsohn and Sue Gregor.

For 25 years of consecutive service; Courtney Gilman and Avis Murray. For 35 years, Madelyn Valbuena and recognized for 40 amazing years of service was Mike Mercier.

After the service awards were presented, the seven State Association Volunteer of the Year winners were recognized in the following order; Connecticut Volunteer of the Year: Ed Weiss (Weston, CT); Eastern Massachusetts Volunteer of the Year: Keith Hay (Marshfield, MA); Maine Volunteer of the Year: Michelle MacDonald (Buxton, ME); New Hampshire Volunteer of the Year: Melissa Salmon (Bedford, NH); Rhode Island Volunteer of the Year: Anne Sullivan (South Kingston, RI); Vermont Volunteer of the Year: Mary Selby (Williston, VT); Western Massachusetts Volunteer of the Year: Marguerite Brennen (Belchertown, MA).

Following the volunteer of the year awards, guests enjoyed a sit down lunch and awards continued in the following order:

Joseph Deitz Bowl (USPTA Award): Ron Parlman (Acton, MA)

PTR New England Professional of the Year: Gustavo ‘Gus’ Moral (Bedford, NH)

Boys 12 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: William Savage (Stamford, CT)

Girls 12 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Candice Ballarin (Warwick, RI)

Boys 14 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Ryan Fu (Andover, MA)

Girls 14 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Julia Newman (Natick, MA)

Boys 16 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Tyler Cain (Montpelier, VT)

Girls 16 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Sophie Bujold (South Burlington, VT)

Boys 18 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Joseph Haig (Chestnut Hill, MA)

Girls 18 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Olivia Leavitt (Falmouth, ME)

William Freedman Award: Andre Danford (New London, CT)

Junior Tournament of the Year: Boys’ and Girls’ Level 5 Summer Championship Series at the Beverly Golf and Tennis Center (Beverly, MA)

Junior Team Tennis Organizer of the Year: Beth Melina (Killingworth, CT)

Starfish Award: Brett Manoloff (Amesbury, MA)

Community Tennis Association of the Year: Serving Providence Organized Tennis (SPOT) (Providence, RI)

NJTL Chapter of the Year: New HYTES (New Haven, CT)

Organization of the Year: Kennebec Valley Tennis Association (Augusta, ME)

Official of the Year: David Keene (Andover, MA)

Adult Tournament of the Year: Hampshire Hills Men’s Open at the Hampshire Hills Fitness Club (Milford, NH)

Adult Female Sportsmanship Award: Hye Sun Canning (Newton, MA)

Adult Male Sportsmanship Award: Dana Lavoie (Goffstown, NH)

USTA League Coordinator of the Year: Nan Pongsriwat (Monterey, CA)

USTA League Female Captain of the Year: Lesley Gold (Ogunquit, ME)

USTA League Male Captain of the Year: Albert R. Villadolid (Southbury, CT)

Special Recognition Award: Project Green Ball, Inc. (Wellesley, MA)

Special Recognition Award: Connor Aulson (Groveland, MA) and Alex Fizz (Middleton, MA) 


To view pictures of each winner as well as photos from the event, click here.





Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share