Facebook53x53pxFINAL  Twitter53x53pxFINAL

Youtube53x53pxFINAL  Instagram_final



USTANE to Honor Award Winners

December 15, 2015 08:53 AM


MARLBOROUGH, MA- USTA (United States Tennis Association) New England is proud to announce its 2015 Award Winners, who will be honored in a ceremony on Saturday, January 9th, 2016. Thirty-three award winners and 75 long-time volunteers will be celebrated for their tremendous dedication and contribution to tennis in New England.

“Our award winners exemplify the very best of tennis in New England. We are so proud of each of their remarkable efforts on and of the court in 2015,” said Scott Steinberg, President and CEO, USTA New England. “It is our pleasure to celebrate these wonderful people and their dedication to the sport. They are the ones who truly carry out our mission, ‘To Promote and Develop the Growth of Tennis.’”

The winners will be honored at 11:30 a.m. at a luncheon ceremony at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marlborough, MA. More than 100 people are expected to attend.

For the first time this year, Tennis Industry Magazine will also be recognizing three special people for its ‘Champions of Tennis’ awards.

The event will feature guest emcee, Chris McKinnon, weekday morning news anchor at WBZ-TV Channel 4 in Boston, who is also an avid tennis player.

The award winners are as follows:

Connecticut Volunteer of the Year: Chris Hadjimichael (West Haven, CT)

Eastern Massachusetts Volunteer of the Year: John Salamme (Brant Rock, MA)

Maine Volunteer of the Year: Dr. Steven R. Cutone (Kennebunkport, ME)

New Hampshire Volunteer of the Year: Bob Ronstadt (Gilmanton, NH)

Rhode Island Volunteer of the Year: Vidith Huot (Providence, RI)

Vermont Volunteer of the Year: Kenneth Schoen (Lincoln, VT)

Western Massachusetts Volunteer of the Year: Melissa Baron (Lenox, MA)

Boys 12 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Prem Dave (Norwalk, CT)

Girls 12 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Ashleigh Parlman (Acton, MA)

Boys 14 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Derek Shen (Chestnut Hill, MA)

Girls 14 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Sarah Campbell (Sudbury, MA)

Boys 16 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Aaron Pezzullo (Woodbury, CT)

Girls 16 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Sydney Weinberg (Winchester, MA)

Boys 18 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Benjamin Lebowitz (Boston, MA)

Girls 18 and Under Junior Sportsmanship Award: Julia Nojeim (Marion, MA)

William Freedman Award: Art Goldblatt (Norwalk, CT)

Junior Tournament of the Year: All Seasons-Concord Academy 16, 18 L7 (Marlborough, MA)

Junior Team Tennis Organizer of the Year: Jim Maitland (Ellington, CT)

Starfish Award: Doug Chapman (Somerset, MA)

Community Tennis Association of the Year: Marshfield Tennis Club (Marshfield, MA)

NJTL Chapter of the Year: Springfield NJTL (Springfield, MA)

Edwin Goodman Family of the Year: Panarese Family (Milton, MA)

Organization of the Year: Sportsmen's Tennis & Enrichment Center (Dorchester, MA)

Gardner Ward Chase Memorial Award: Avis R. Murray (Gloucester, MA)

Adult Sportsmanship Award: Shannon Vanderhooft (Lexington, MA)

USTA League Coordinator of the Year: Lynda Vankleeck (Colchester, VT)

USTA League Female Captain of the Year: Michelle Brown (Acton, MA)

USTA League Male Captain of the Year: Bill Romond (Colchester, VT)

Joseph Deitz Bowl (USPTA Award): Chris Stevens (Eliot, ME)

PTR New England Professional of the Year: John Austin (Newport, RI)

Official of the Year: Cynthia Borghesani (Gloucester, MA)


Special Recognition Awards:

Wheelchair Tennis Player of the Year: David Kelly (Bristol, CT)

Special Tennis Event of the Year: Boston Tennis Classic hosted by Tennis4All (Cambridge, MA)


Tennis Industry Magazine ‘Champions of Tennis’ Awards:

Youth Tennis Provider of the Year: David Colby (Manchester, MA)

Junior Tennis Champion of the Year: Phil Parrish (Wayland, MA)

Public Park of the Year: Peter Igo Park (Marshfield, MA)


Volunteer Service Awards:

5 years of volunteer service:

Kathy Barsczewski, Bara Blender, Richard Bramante, Nina Bramhall, Winnie Collins, Don Dalonzo, Bob Dean, Mike Flannery, Peter Francesconi, Celeste Frey, Miguel Garcia, Alan Jordan, Stephanie Jurgensen, David Kelly, Siva Kumar, Kimberly Kump, Mary Lafreniere, Jim Maitland, Hilary McCarthy, Tracy McEvoy, Beth Melina, Kim Mihan, Bev Oliver, Jon Parry, Jennifer Riley, Robb Schachter, Jim Solomon, Sylvia Swartz,  Marie Tai, Liz Veilleux, Marj White, Toni Wiley, Monica Wojcik, Glenn Wong.

10 years:

Rich Bisk, David Champoux, John DeFilippo, Anne Dentino, June Donovan, Kim Francis, Sally Glanz, Wayne Harrell, Nancy Hultgren, Anita Levine, Allen Levine, Pat Maeder, Ira Mayo, Carol Melargno, Dorcas Miller, Jay Orduz, Marvin Sears, Candy Weiner.

15 years:

Barbara Aichinger, Tracy Breton, Michael Gorman, Ken Miller, Karen O’Sullivan, Peter Parrotta, Jim Roberts, Maureen Schofield, Brenda Sharton

20 years:

Kenyon Clark, Alan Dyl, Gary Faltin, Melissa Salmon

25 years:                         

Bunnie Lahey

30 Years:

Paul Brower, Diane Cortese, Tom Larkin , Devi Maganti, Rick Sharton

35 years:

Wayne St. Peter

45 Years:

Leo Power

50 years:

Richard Ernst


About USTA New England

USTA New England, one of 17 regional sections across the country that comprise the United States Tennis Association (USTA), is a not-for-profit organization committed to promoting and developing the growth of tennis and increasing participation in the sport in New England by offering quality recreational and competitive programs for people of all ages and abilities. For more information, visit www.ustanewengland.com.


Media Contact: James Maimonis

Communications & Engagement Coordinator

508-366-3450 ext. 112





Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share